The idea of recovering the space encompassing the complex of San Juan de el Hospital in Valencia came from the desire to restore and rehabilitate a set of buildings and archaeological sites nestled in a peculiar and almost unique context.
The set of San Juan of the Hospital remained in oblivion for many years, maintenance-free and almost disappearing as established and determined by the statutes of a centuries-old Foundation, of the hospitaller order of St. Juan de Jerusalén, and with approaches of work as functional as that currently might pose.
All and any historical text speaks specifically of a hospital set subject to stringent standards foundational and constructive, the historical Commission of the Church of San Juan de el Hospital has seen that it was. Research carried out in the national archives, in the of the sovereign order of Malta, in its headquarters in Rome and the Royal Library of the Republic of Malta island. Also been studied and recreated intervention approaches, with visits to military orders and hospital buildings. On the other hand, students of the school of architecture of the Polytechnic University of Valencia have made excellent constructive morphology and recreation work in 3D before reintegrating parts removed or destroyed to its place.
In the year 1964 San Juan de el Hospital enclosure was undercover externally by attached constructions, and internally by the neoclassical coating that hid its Gothic appearance since the beginning of the 18th century. After the confiscation of the military orders in 1850 and its nominal transfer as the new parish to the ensanche of the city, It was forgotten and reused for other uses.
In 1943 the concern of Valencian intellectuals before his deterioration became Don Elías Tormo requested declared a historic artistic monument of national character (B.O.E. of 10 April of 1943), subsequently falling into oblivion. The nave of the Church with the walled side chapels would be used as seating area of the cinema SARE; in the presbytery, covering the main altar, the screen was. The southern courtyard of the Romanesque arco-solios disappeared between added sheds. The project of recovering, to the extent possible, its original appearance began in the year 1967 When the Prelature of Opus Dei took charge of the temple. More recently, in the year 1999, It gave home the "Plan Director of temple and attached units of the environment" under the direction of architect D. Vicente Lassala Bau.
The whole foundation of San Juan of the Hospital and the historical Commission of the Church are aimed at conservation of finds, the scientific dissemination and the provision of a singular and cultural tour of a space from the 13th century, situated in the historic centre of Valencia. The preservation of the Museum's collections is currently a priority for the Foundation and reason for request for aid to the competent bodies.
Publications of the Commission Historica-artistica of the Church of San Juan of the Hospital of Valencia:
|“San Juan de el Hospital”||Author: José Pellejero Ferrer|
|“San Juan de el Hospital. Foundation of the 13th century”||Author: Fernando Llorca Die|
|“The order of Malta's relationship with San Juan de el Hospital de Valencia”||Author: Luis Pascual Gasco|
|“Two funerary slabs from the 13th century”||Author: Luis Corell Ruiz|
|“Church of San Juan del Hospital de Valencia”||Author: Navarro Bravo Martin|
|“Constance Hohenstaufen, Empress of Greece”||Author: Margarita Ordeig Corsini|
|“Guia-Catalogo of the tour of the Museum”||Authors: Manuel Fernández Canet and Margarita Ordeig Corsini|
|“Four monuments at risk of loss”||Author: Elías Tormo Monzó|
|“The burial of the Almela in the Church of San Juan de el Hospital de Valencia”||Author: Manuel Esteve|